Interview #19: Shaylom

By: Forward Musiq
We bring you this special interview with the master chef of the mixing table and local talent, Shaylom.

Music is passion, no one knows this more that Harris Malberg. He’s had music all his life, and has been molded by it to be the individual he is today. it takes great passion to dedicate your life to music, and that’s precisely what Harris has done. Under the moniker, Shaylom, Harris has grown from the underground EDM scene in Puerto Rico, surpassing all expectations and making jaws’s drop wherever he plays. A true DJ, his mixing skills have earned him the reputation of a veteran DJ, yet the humble man still seeks out to learn everything he can from the world, sampling life wherever he goes. This, lately has had him taking over the States in Orlando where he has come to dominate the American crowd already opening for popular DJ’s such as Mord Fustang. Yet his love for Puerto Rico still draws him here from time to time to teach us what it really means to be an artist. Let us present to you, the man that can easily be called the best DJ in Puerto Rico, Harris Malberg.

Forward Musiq: What inspired you to start involving yourself in the EDM scene, especially in Puerto Rico? What  inspired you to explore your own musical capabilities?And what artists have served as inspiration for you?

Shaylom: What inspired me to start playing was to educate people of different genres of music and showing that there is way more to what the radio gives us to party to. My inspiration for my house music is the dance music scene of the 1990’s because those were the sounds that caught my attention at first. After doing research I started to find so much new music and decided I needed to share my love to the world. Main Inspiration has to be the legend himself Carl Cox.

FM: Why did you choose to be first DJ, instead of producing, and how was the reception for your DJ’ing at the beginning?

S: I picked DJin’g first because I wanted to be in public and meet new people. I wanted to be able to gain a small fan base and then, which would be right now for me, start on my production to expand to new territory. At first my shows were pretty much my friends coming out to support. Without them and all the support they gave me, I would not be here where I’m at today.

FM: How was it at first?

S: At first it was probably like 40 people, then the next show was 60, and it started building up quickly. Once the Euro Vibe came around that Summer my fan base grew to a number I would never have believed being possible.

FM: What are the biggest challenges that an upstart DJ has to go through in Puerto Rico’s West Side?

S: There’s many challenges in my opinion. The main one would be not enough venues or bars that are willing to support EDM. In the west coast the bars, clubs and venues are numbered and it’s hard to be able to first get out there. Next would be a over saturation in the DJ market. My best advice for that would be to start doing something different, be creative with you’re style and maybe start on cdj’s right away instead of using a controller. If I would have used cdj’s earlier in my career, I probably would have been able to do even more stuff and spread to places in Puerto Rico I still have not done.

FM: Tell us a bit about the infamous house party, Euro Vibe, and it’s place in Puerto Rico’s EDM scene.

S: Euro Vibe is my pride and joy. Euro Vibe took so much Science, work, and effort to make possible. The last Euro Vibe was exactly 1 year ago and I still have people talking about it and asking for another one. I hope 20 years from now the people who attended the party and tell there kids about it and it becomes a legend as the story keeps getting passed down.

FM: If Euro Vibe isn’t coming back, can we expect something as big and extraordinaire in Puerto Rico again?

S: Definitely. I have many ideas I want to realize. I’m just waiting for the right time to start my next big project.

FM: Now that you have moved to Florida, how, from your perspective as an artist, is the EDM scene there?

S: The EDM scene is very different over here than in Puerto Rico. For example in Puerto Rico people consider David Guetta, LMFAO and some other to be EDM while in the states they just consider it top 40. There’s a party everyday here which is something we don’t see in Puerto Rico and people here support a lot of the smaller production shows, often being sold out.

FM: Is it easierr to progress as an artist there, or more challenging?

S: It’s more challenging just because there’s a lot more competition and a lot of them produce. You have to have you’re A game on since the moment you start here. What’s helped me is playing underground house music, which a lot of dj’s dont play here. Orlando is definitely a place for the bass heads.

FM You’ve also already developed a residency on Ignintion, and opening for Mord Fustang, how has the experience working there been?

S: Ignition has been what boosted my name in Orlando and has helped me develop a new fan base in Orlando. Mord Fustang was a great show there was about 1,100 people there and the vibes were amazing. I will tell you that possibly a second residency might be coming, I still can’t give any details but expect it very soon.

FM: What do you hope to get out of EDM as a career?

S: What I want to get out of it is being able to teach people about house music and being able to see the world and learning new cultures and customs. Hopefully soon music will be able to help me reach new countries I would have never thought seeing.

FM: What do you aspire for your future as a DJ?

S: Right now I have a set of goals. I completed the first set I had when I began playing 2 years ago and now I’m working on my new sets of goals. Now it’s a bigger challenge but I’m working twice as hard to get them realized.

FM: What about production wise, what can we expect from future productions by you? What genres would you work with?

S: Right now I’m working on some bootlegs and remixes of songs I have always wanted to put in my set but just didn’t have the right remix or style to it. January 2013 expect some releases.

FM: When can we see you again on Puerto Rico?

S: I wish I knew that answer man. It will be very unexpected

Done in collaboration with Steven Sentmanat

Leave a Reply

